Tags

, , , , , ,

I found this recipe on Bake Me Away food blog and as soon as I saw it I knew I needed to make it. Unfortunately, mine did not come out as nice as hers but is still pretty impressive. I don’t want to even show you my progress photos because they are so messy compared to Bake Me Away but that’s what it’s all about.

Zebra Bundt Cake

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
6 large eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 + 1/8 teaspoon salt
5 tablespoons cocoa powder, sifted to remove lumps

Beat together sugar and eggs until light and fluffy about 2 minutes. Add milk, oil and vanilla and beat on low speed until combined.

In a separate bowl stir together flour, baking powder and salt. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients one scoop at a time until the batter is smooth. Remove 3 1/2 cups of batter into a separate bowl (I reused the bowl I mixed the dry ingredients in. Why dirty another bowl?) add cocoa powder and stir to combine.

Pre-heat the oven to 350F. Grease pan with butter and flour.

Pour 3 tablespoons of vanilla batter into the pan. Then pour 3 tablespoons of chocolate batter into the center of the vanilla. I used a 2 tablespoon spoon in one batter and a 1 tablespoon spoon in the other and estimated equal pours. It will spread out to look like this:

Continue alternating vanilla and chocolate until you run out of batter.

My center managed to rotate halfway around the pan and I ended up with too much vanilla batter. I adjusted this recipe to make up for it.

Bake for 45-55 minutes until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Cool 20 minutes, then invert it on a cooling rack to cool completely. I left mine cooling overnight.

Chocolate Ganache

I prefer my ganache on the thicker side so I adjusted the  ratio of cream to chocolate for this recipe. If you prefer it on the thinner side, just add some more cream.

1/2 cup heavy cream
6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate

I did this all in the microwave. But you can do it on the stove.

Heat heavy cream until it just starts to boil. I did this right in my Pyrex measuring cup. Add chocolate to hot cream and stir until all chocolate is melted and ganache is smooth. I let it cool some so it would thicken up and not just run off the cake. Pour over cake and enjoy!

Of course I cut into a very vanilla slice So I had to cut another slice.

No 2 slices are the same. So fun! I had a little mishap when removing the cake from the pan. A large part stuck to the pan but I was able to remove it and hide the cracks with the ganache. I cut this slice from that section.

I’m sure you could do this with any white cake recipe and just add the cocoa powder.

