Tags

, , , , , , ,

I picked up some farro a while ago in an attempt to get more whole grains into my life. I finally cooked it tonight. It was my first time making it and I decided to do it like a risotto, sorta. While it can never replace the real thing, it was a nice healthier substitute. If it wasn’t so expensive, I could see this becoming a staple in my house. I made it with mushrooms, since that is my favorite risotto, and rosemary since I have it growing in my kitchen.

Farro Risotto

Ingredients:

1 cup farro

4 cups chicken stock

1 small onion chopped

1 clove of garlic minced

10 oz mushrooms sliced

1 teaspoon fresh rosemary chopped

1/4 cup white wine

1/2 cup grated parmesan

Directions:

Soak farro in cold water for 25 minutes. Drain, add the farro to a pot with the chicken stock. Bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat to a simmer, cover and cook for 15-20 minutes. Reserve 1 cup of cooking liquid, then drain the farro.

Saute the onion in some olive oil in a large pan until translucent. Add garlic and cook for a minute.

Add the mushrooms, season with salt and pepper, cook until they release their water.

Add the rosemary and wine to the pan. Cook 1 minute. Add the drained farro, stir to combine and cook until most liquid is absorbed. Slowly stir in the parmesan cheese. If needed add some of the farro cooking liquid to get a creamy consistency. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately topped with additional parmesan.

