Tags

, , , , ,

What do I do with a hurricane barreling up the coast towards me? I bake a cake! I had a really hard time picking a recipe. I’m a bit of a purist so I chose a chocolate cake with my favorite cream cheese frosting. The cake turned out very light and fluffy but also moist. The addition of coffee did add a nice depth to the cake. I found the recipe on I Am Baker (she has some very impressive cakes over there) and it turned out to be an Ina Garten recipe.

I had planned to do a 4 layer cake but I only have 2 cake pans and the cake turned out to be too delicate to cut in half. You will have excess batter if you only make 2 layers, well at least I did. I also forgot the recipe for the frosting and only bought enough cream cheese for a half recipe. By the time I realized it the stores were closed. The frosting recipe is the same one I use for my red velvet cupcakes.

I’m happy to say we made it through the storm ok. I am crossing my fingers for our veggies at Sang Lee Farms out on the North Fork of Long Island.

Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cups all purpose flour, plus more for pans
2 cups sugar
3/4 cups good cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs at room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup freshly brewed coffee

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350F. Grease the pans with cooking spray or butter, line with parchment and dust with flour.

Sift dry ingredients into the bowl of an electric mixer. I add all the ingredients and mix with a fork instead of sifting. In another bowl mix together all wet ingredients.

With the mixer on low, slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry. Mix until combined. Scrape bowl down as necessary. Pour batter equally into prepared pans. bake for about 35-4o minutes or until an inserted tester comes out clean. Cool in pans for 30 minutes, then turn out onto a rack and let cool completely.

Trim off the rounded tops of the cakes so they are flat.

Place one layer on a cake stand or plate bottom side up, spread about a 1/2 – 3/4 cup of frosting over the top. Place the second layer on top. Cover entire cake with a thin layer of frosting, this is the crumb coat.

It will be easier to frost the rest of the cake after doing this. Refrigerate the cake for 30 minutes. Frost the cake using the rest of the frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:
8oz. cream cheese
1 stick of butter
2 cups confectioners sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:
Mix together all ingredients in a standing mixer with the paddle attachment on low speed until just combined. Raise speed to high and mix until fluffy about 5 minutes.

