Tags

, , , , ,

In a hurry to use up some leftover produce from last week’s CSA I made a cilantro pesto and a cherry tomato sauce. 

The cilantro pesto is made in the same way a traditional basil pesto is. Garlic, parmesan cheese, olive oil and salt and pepper all blended in a food processor. I tired this after receiving yet another bunch of cilantro, there’s only so much salsa I can make. I often make a sauce with cream and some pesto which helps to cut the tang.

Cilantro Pesto

I made a sauce with 2 weeks worth of cherry tomatoes. I sautéed a glove of minced garlic, added the tomatoes, I added some water to help them them cook down a bit and let it simmer for an hour. I hate seeds and skins in my sauce so I put it through my food mill. That thing sure is coming in handy.

The Start of Cherry Tomato Sauce

Tonight I used my tiny eggplant to make a single serving of eggplant parmesan. I sliced, breaded and fried the eggplant. Layered it with the cherry tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese and baked in the oven until bubbly and golden.

Eggplant Parmesan

