Tags

, , , , ,

It is official, this blog is a success! Two readers told me they were making the butternut squash soup for their dinner parties this weekend. One may even be making the cabbage recipe. I’m glad to have provided inspiration for their meals which part of the reason I started this. Thanks for reading!

Now for some failure. Well not a total failure. I love risotto and when I was thinking today about what I should make for dinner I thought of all the scallions I had to use and how much I love them in risotto. When I opened my fridge I saw I had some leftover bacon and that’s where the problem started. Originally, I was going to make a risotto with broccoli, scallions, garlic, lemon and parmesan. Sounds good right? Well I did that but also added bacon and that was all I could taste. While bacon is delish, I was looking for something different. If it happens again that I have all these ingredients in the fridge, I will definitely try it without the bacon. If someone tries it without the bacon please let me know how it turns out.

Ingredients

4 cups chicken stock
1 slice of bacon chopped
1/4 cup scallions
2 cloves garlic minced
1 cup Arborio rice
juice of half a lemon
1/2 cup white wine
1/2 cup grated parmesan
1 head broccoli chopped into bite sized pieces

Directions

Heat chicken stock until hot reduce heat to low to keep hot. Cook bacon until crisp. Drain fat so there is less than a tablespoon in the pan. Add scallions and cook for a bit. Add garlic and cook briefly.

Bacon, Scallions and Garlic

Add rice and cook until translucent. Add lemon juice and white wine. After liquid is absorbed add about a cup of chicken stock, simmer, stirring often until chicken stock is absorbed. Add more and continue the same process until all chicken stock is used.

Simmering

While the risotto is cooking steam the broccoli. I do it in the microwave. Put broccoli in a bowl, add a couple tablespoons of water, cover with plastic wrap and microwave for 2-4 minutes or until tender. Drain and set aside.

After all the liquid is absorbed add the parmesan and stir it together. If you didn’t make it with the bacon I would add a tablespoon of butter at this point. Then add the broccoli. Salt and pepper to taste.

