Tags

, , , , , ,

Last night I went to Ward III in Tribeca for a sort of pre-birthday celebration for my friend. It’s one of those fancy cocktail bars where you can name your spirit and any other characteristics you want and they will make you a custom cocktail. Whenever I go to a place like this I never order off the menu, I always ask for something with tequila, my fave. The first one I got had muddled apples in it and I’m not sure what else. It was just good, the next one however was the star of the night, actually that was the quesadilla but I’ll get to that later. When I ordered the bartender asked me if I like spicy, I said sure. When I saw him put Sriracha sauce in glass I second guessed my answer. That stuff is hot! He also added lime juice and muddled some basil. It was spicy and very tasty.

Now on to the food. We ordered two items, a quesadilla with smoked gouda, caramelized onions, a little bacon and topped with creme fraiche and a spinach pastry with a yogurt dipping sauce. The quesadillas were amazing! The combo was perfect. I couldn’t stop thinking about them so I stopped at the store on the way home tonight to pickup some smoked gouda. They didn’t have that so I tried regular gouda and it was good but just not the same.

My Quesadilla

