Tags

, , , ,

My parents have a hard time finding Spanish Chorizo upstate so when they were coming down for Thanksgiving they asked if I could pick some up for them. Since it’s a favorite of mine I also got some for myself. I’ve been eating it simply heated in a pan on the stove. I had some leftover rice from dinner the night before and so I decided to make some fried rice with Chorizo. I love the rice in paella so I figured it would taste similar and it did not disappoint.

Chorizo Fried Rice

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons oil

2 ounces of chorizo diced

1 small onion diced

1 scallion sliced

2 cups rice

1 egg beaten

Directions:

Heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium heat, add diced chorizo and cook until they release some of their oil about 2 minutes. Add onions and scallions cook until translucent about 5 minutes. Add rice and stir to combine. Add another tablespoon oil and egg. Mix so egg is distributed throughout and does not scramble. Salt and pepper to taste. Cook until egg is absorbed about 5 minutes .

