Tags

, , , , ,

I made this for my book club today.

Earlier this year for my Grandmother’s 90th birthday party one of my cousins made macaroni and cheese and my sister and I both commented that it was just like mom’s. We soon found out that mom’s was actually grandma’s. It’s was surprising to us because it’s my dad’s mom. I didn’t realize until I started cooking for myself that this is actually an odd way to make mac and cheese and I have not heard of anyone else outside of the family making it this way. It’s more like making a ziti with layering the pasta and cheese and there’s no time-consuming cheese sauce to make. Easy and tasty!

Update: Grandma informed me that this was actually her mother’s recipe so I guess it should be called Great Grandma’s Macaroni and Cheese.

Grandma’s Macaroni and Cheese

ingredients:

1 pound ziti or penne

1 pound cheddar cheese sliced (My mom uses half white and half yellow cheddar so that’s what I do too. This time I bought some good Cabot white cheddar.)

5 oz. can evaporated milk

breadcrumbs

Directions:

Cook pasta according to package directions. Line the bottom and sides of a casserole dish with a layer of cheese, add a layer of pasta and cover with cheese. Repeat 2 more times using the rest of the ingredients. The top layer should be cheese. Pour evaporated milk over the whole thing. Cover top with a layer of breadcrumbs. I use the italian seasoned breadcrumbs.

Bake in the oven at 350F for 35-45 minutes until all the cheese is melted and bubbling.


