Tags

, , , , , ,

I had bacon wrapped dates for the first time was several years ago at Boqueria and they have been in my party menu repertoire ever since. They are always a crowd pleaser. My friend requested them for her tree trimming potluck and everyone devoured them. And the great part is they are so easy to make.

Bacon Wrapped Dates

Soak toothpicks in water. Make a slit in the dates, remove the pit and replace with an almond. I’ve found that most packages of bacon have 14-16 slices of bacon which will give 28-32 dates. Cut bacon in half, wrap one piece around the stuffed date and secure with a toothpick. I have cut the bacon in thirds which also works but half is ideal.

Bake in a 350F oven for 25-30 minutes or until bacon is crisp. I bake them on a rack so that the fat drips off and they cook more evenly that way.

Your guests will love these!

