Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Since I got a fresh batch of potatoes this week, I’m trying to use up the old ones. I saw this recipe on Epicurious, it was an Alice Waters recipe, who is a pioneer of local, organic food, so I knew it had to be good. Since I also wanted to make leeks tonight I decided to combine them. I  replaced half the water in the recipe with white wine which in my opinion added some much-needed acid.

Braised Fingerling Potatoes and Leeks

About 1 hour

4 servings

Ingredients:

1 lbs fingerling potatoes

1 leek

3 tablespoons butter, cut into small pieces

1/2 cup white wine

1/2 water

1-2 tablespoons chopped parsley

Directions:

Cut a piece of parchment paper (I used waxed paper) to fit inside a large pan and butter one side of it. Set aside.

Slice potatoes into thin rounds, about 1/8″ thick. I used a mandoline.

Sliced Potatoes

Add them to the pan. Season with a good amount of salt and pepper. Cut the leek in half, slice and clean. Check this post on how to clean the leeks.

Check out this funky leek

Another view

Add them to the pan, dot the top with the butter. Add water and wine, cover with parchment, butter side down.

Ready for the parchment

Bring to a simmer over medium low heat and cook for 30-40 minutes until most liquid has absorbed and potatoes are tender. There will be a velvety sauce in the pan. Sprinkle with parsley to serve.

Enjoy!

