Tags

, , , ,

What to do with all those sweet potatoes? A reader commented that she made pumpkin bread with sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin. I thought if there’s any way I would like sweet potatoes better it would be in bread. During some research I came across a recipe for biscuits and knew I’d like that even better. I got this recipe from Chow (I picked it because they had the best picture). They were good. I could not taste the sweet potato at all, it wasn’t too sweet and very moist. This is a very sticky dough. I’m sure you could take any biscuit recipe and add the sweet potatoes to it.

Sweet Potato Biscuits

45 minutes or about 1 hour 15 minutes if you need to make the mashed potatoes

Makes 8-10

Ingredients:

1 cup mashed sweet potato

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 tablespoon granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup whole milk or buttermilk (I used homemade buttermilk. Add 1 tablespoon vinegar to the 3/4 cup milk. I used cider vinegar.)

8 tablespoons butter

Milk for brushing the tops

Directions:

If you need don’t have the sweet potatoes already mashed do this first. They will need to cool before using. I used my food processor for the whole recipe.

Peel and cut the sweet potatoes into 1 inch pieces. Add to a pot of cold water and bring to a boil. cook until tender. Puree the potatoes in the food processor until smooth. You can mash them by hand if you prefer. Refrigerate until cool. Mix together with milk.

Preheat oven to 400F. Add all dry ingredients to the food processor. Cut butter into small pieces and add to food processor. Pulse to mix. Add milk mixture, run the food processor until combined. Turn out onto a floured surface. Pat dough into a 3/4 thick circle. Use a 3″ cookie cutter (I used a 2 1/2 inch glass) to cut out the biscuits. Reform scraps into another circle until all dough is used.

Place biscuits on a greased baking sheet. Brush tops with milk and bake about 15-20 minutes until bottoms are golden.

Best enjoyed right out of the oven!

