Tags

, , , , , , ,

It is getting harder to for me to make meals with my CSA veggies. As I was thinking about what to have for dinner I thought of the turnips so I started making the rounds searching for a recipe. I found this on Epicurious and since I had most of the ingredients at home, I decided to give it a try. You can find the original recipe here.

Mashed Turnips and Potatoes with Horseradish Breadcrumbs

I used a couple of handfuls of fingerling potatoes and 1 turnip cut into 1 inch pieces. Boil with a clove of garlic until tender. I used my food mill to mash the potatoes and turnip. Add some butter, a dash of milk and a good seasoning of salt.

While the potatoes are cooking make the breadcrumbs. I keep the leftover bits of bread I don’t finish in a bag in the freezer to use to make breadcrumbs. I pulled out a couple of slices and pulsed them in my mini food processor. Toast them in a little oil on the stove until browned. Add a teaspoon or so of horseradish, depending on your taste and the strength of the horseradish.

Top potatoes with breadcrumbs to serve.

