Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

My coworker has been eating lentil soup at work quite often lately and whenever I smell I wish it was my lunch. So this week I decided to make some of my own. I used whatever vegetables I had in my fridge, carrots, leeks, onions, garlic, parsley, some leftover red wine and frozen turkey stock from Thanksgiving. It was my first time ever making stock and I think it came out pretty good. My turkey was so large I had to break it down into smaller pieces and divided it into my two largest pots. I simmered the carcass in water for a while with carrots, onions, garlic, celery, parsley, ground pepper, adding more water as necessary. I had so much stock that I ran out of tupperware to put it in!

If you haven’t noticed yet, I’m a big advocate of the freezer. I always have some pork product, pancetta or bacon, divided into small ready to use servings. Fresh herbs that I know I won’t be able to use before that go bad are thrown in. Same goes with fresh veggies. If there’s extra tomato paste, and there always is, that gets put into a ziploc bag and flattened so you can just break off piece as needed. For this soup I used stock, tomato paste and pancetta from the freezer.

Oh and by the way I did not forget about Vesuvio, my sourdough starter. It’s been sitting in my fridge for the weekend while I was in Boston for a great wedding! It looks like the rest did it some good, it’s starting to look like dough! Hopefully I will have time to make some bread this weekend.

Lentil Soup

Ingredients:

2 thick slices of pancetta diced (or bacon)

1 large onion finely diced

1 large carrot finely diced

1 leek sliced (see this post on how to clean them)

2 cloves of garlic minced

Cumin

1 cup lentils

1/4 cup red wine

4 cups stock – chicken, turkey, vegetable

2 tablespoons tomato paste

Parsley

Directions:

Cook pancetta in a pot with some olive oil until crisp, add onions and cook until translucent. Add carrots and leeks, cook until tender.

Add garlic and a few dashes of cumin, stir to combine and cook one minute. Add lentils, stir and cook one minute, add wine and simmer. Add stock and tomato paste. Cover and simmer about 25-30 minutes or until lentils are done. You may need to add some water if the soup is too thick. Salt and pepper to taste, add a sprinkling of chopped parsley before serving.

