Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am down to sweet potatoes and carrots with my CSA veggies. So what did I have for dinner? Sweet potatoes and carrots. One of my favorite ways to enjoy sweet potatoes, or any potato for that matter, is in fry form. (The carrot, I ate raw.) I am all out of my usual dipping sauce, ketchup, so I made a garlic mayo instead. It was a great compliment to the sweetness of the fries. This may be my new favorite but I have a feeling I will be experimenting with more dipping sauces. Any recommendations?

Sweet Potato Fries

Preheat oven to 350F. Peel and slice potatoes to the desired thickness, I like mine thin. Toss with some olive oil, salt and pepper. I do this right on the pan, no need to dirty a bowl. I also added some chipotle powder to the mix. Bake about 30 minutes, flipping halfway through, until fries are crisp. Be careful not to burn.

Garlic Mayo

While potatoes are baking make mayo. Mix together about 1/3 to 1/2 cup mayo, 1 small clove of garlic crushed and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. If you didn’t add any spice to the fries you can add some chipotle or cayenne pepper to the mayo. Refrigerate until serving.

