Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My coworkers, who are also in a CSA, gave me a huge butternut squash in exchange for some sweet potatoes. It’s been sitting around my kitchen for a while so I decided to turn this weekend into one of my cooking marathon weekends. I don’t know why I thought to make these but raviolis are one of my specialties. I used a new dough recipe from The New Brooklyn Cookbook. A common flavor combination seems to be  butternut squash and sage and now I can see why. These were so good!

Recipe from Locanda Vini E Oili in Clinton Hill.

Pasta Dough

Makes 25 ravioli

Ingredients:

Heaping 1 1/2 cups durum wheat semolina flour

3 large eggs

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

Pinch of salt

All purpose flour for dusting

Directions:

I mixed all the ingredients in my mixer with the dough hook. You can do this on you counter by making well in the center of the of the flour and adding the rest of the ingredients. Stir with a fork until it is too hard to mix and knead the dough until it is all incorporated and the dough is no longer sticky. Continue kneading until the dough is elastic, about 10 minutes. Cover with plastic wrap and let rest 30 minutes.

Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage Brown Butter

Ingredients:

1 butternut squash

1 shallot finely minced

8 tablespoons butter

12 sage leaves

1/3 cup parmesan cheese plus more for serving

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400F. Cut squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Place on an oiled baking sheet cut side down, roast about 30 minutes or until tender. While squash is cooking, saute shallots in olive oil until translucent. When the squash is done remove from oven and let cool until you can handle it. Peel skin off squash and mash in a bowl with the sautéed shallots, parmesan and salt and pepper.

Roll out the dough into sheets. On my pasta maker I usually roll it out to the 5 setting but it was too thin for this dough so I stopped at 4. Place heaping tablespoons of butternut squash mixture on the dough about an inch apart from each other. I like to place them closer to one edge and fold the dough over on to the top. Brush the edges of the dough with water before sealing.

Please note this picture doesn’t represent what I just explained. I was trying a different technique which did not work well.

Bring a pot of water to a boil, add the ravioli  and cook a few minutes until done. While the ravioli are cooking, heat the butter with the sage leaves over medium heat until browned.

To serve, drizzle brown butter over the ravioli and top with parmesan cheese.

