Tags

, , , , , , ,

Turnips, what do you do with them? The first time I ever cooked one was this summer after I received them from my CSA and I don’t have a huge history of eating them either. I had a craving for quesadillas last night and I was thinking about what veggies I had that I could put in it, carrots of course and turnips. I did a google search on turnip quesadillas and it turned up exactly 3 instances of it. Needless to say turnips are not a common quesadilla ingredient.

Turnip and Carrot Quesadilla

Sauté a minced clove of garlic in some olive oil. Add one small grated turnip and a grated carrot. Season with salt and pepper. This will help draw the water out. After the vegetables are tender, add some cumin to taste and the juice of 1 lime.

Assemble the quesadilla: Add the veggies to the one half of a tortilla, top with cheddar cheese. I added Sriracha sauce too for some heat.

Fold over and heat until cheese is melted and both sides are toasted.

