Tags

, , , , , ,

After being away for the weekend I got home craving some tortilla soup. Maybe it was the bad tortilla soup I had last week or maybe it was the Super Bowl. While looking through my pantry for the ingredients, which I did not have, I found some black beans and decided to make a black bean soup instead. I usually don’t add tomatoes but since they were sitting right next to the black beans I thought I’d give it a try. It turned out to be a good addition.

Black Bean Tomato Soup

Ingredients:

1/2 small onion diced

2 cloves of garlic minced

1 15oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 15oz can diced tomatoes

2 cups chicken stock

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1/4 teaspoon hot sauce

1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

salt & pepper

Directions:

Cook onions in some olive oil until translucent. Add garlic and cook for 1 minute. Stir in beans, tomatoes and chicken stock. You can add more or less chicken stock depending on how thick you want the soup. Add cumin, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce. Season with salt and pepper. Bring to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes. Remove from heat and puree until smooth.   Season with salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with some shredded cheddar cheese.


