Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

First, a little recap of the week. I had dinner at Cornelius in my neighborhood and 10 Downing close to my office. At Cornelius we had the mac and cheese and a burger which both hit the spot. The dinner at 10 Downing was unplanned but we went all out and got the 4 course tasting menu. All of the food was good but the highlight was the shrimp and grits. So good! I wish I could say the same about the service. For my office’s Friday burger train, we tried a new place on Houston called Burger and Barrel. I had the Bash burger which was delish. Bacon jam! Speaking of bacon, I got my friends a 7 bacon sampler pack from Bacon Freak for their wedding gift. It came this week so they had their first meal with it and loved it. She said I win for most creative gift. I kept getting funny looks when I would tell people what I got but they just don’t understand how much they love bacon. I don’t know about you but I’d be happy to receive it too.

My friend is hosting brunch tomorrow and since it is Valentines Day I decided to get into the spirit and bring Red Velvet cupcakes. My go to recipe comes from Cakeman Raven who happens to be located right up the street here in Brooklyn. I also wanted to add a twist to the frosting so see below for a raspberry cream cheese frosting. A note about the food coloring: My red is a little off this time because I forgot to get food coloring so I used whatever liquid I had and the rest was gel.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Makes 24 cupcakes

Time about 1 hour

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon fine salt

1 heaping teaspoon cocoa powder

1 1/2 cups Canola oil (the original calls for vegetable but I find it can taste a little oily)

1 cup buttermilk, at room temperature

2 large eggs, at room temperature

2 tablespoons red food coloring

1 teaspoon white distilled vinegar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Fill 2 cupcake pans with liners.

Sift together all dry ingredients in a large bowl. You can just stir them with a fork to make sure everything is distributed.

In the bowl of a standing mixer, add all the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Slowly add the dry ingredients. Scrape down sides and mix until combined and smooth.

It's actually less orange than it looks

Pour into cupcake liners about 3/4 of the way full. Bake in the oven for about 25-30 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Fresh out of the oven

Let cool completely before frosting. See recipe below.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

8oz. cream cheese

1 stick of butter

2 cups confectioners sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Mix together all ingredients in a standing mixer with the paddle attachment on low speed until just combined. Raise speed to high and mix until fluffy about 5 minutes. I like to refrigerate mine for a bit since it is a little messy to frost with when it’s not that stiff.

Frosted

Yum!

Raspberry Cream Cheese Frosting

Heat a half pint of raspberries and a 1/4 cup sugar over medium heat. Using a spoon mash-up the raspberries. Simmer until the raspberries have all broken down and the mixture has thicken. I strained mine since I hate seeds but you could use it as is if you don’t mind. Mix 2-3 tablespoons of the puree with the frosting recipe above.

Raspberry Frosted

