Tags

, , , , , ,

The verdict is in. After a week of eating carrot soup for lunch I have decided I like it. It seemed a little too carroty in the beginning but I ended up liking it more than I expected. I don’t like sweet soups so I added pancetta and red pepper to cut the sweetness. I didn’t puree it enough so it was a little chunkier than I would have liked. Also, I didn’t have enough orange carrots so I used some purple, which turned the soup purple.

Carrot Soup

Ingredients:

1 oz. pancetta diced

1/2 onion chopped

2 cloves of garlic minced

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper

2 lbs. carrots peeled and cut into 1 inch pieces

4 cups chicken stock

Directions:

Saute the pancetta in some olive oil over medium heat. Once it is nicely browned add onions, season with salt and pepper and cook until translucent. Add garlic and red pepper and cook one minute. Add carrots and cook for a few minutes. Add chicken stock and simmer until carrots are tender about 30 minutes. Remove from heat and puree until smooth. Salt and pepper to taste.

I had so many other things cooking at the time that I forgot to take any pictures.

