Tags

, , , , , , ,

Apparently I can only make purple soups.

Soup was definitely on my to-make list for the weekend. Last week I made a roast chicken just so I could make homemade stock with the carcass. When I requested recipes for my CSA turnips, a reader suggested I check out this website. I love getting new recipes so thanks for sharing! I never thought of making a turnip soup so I decided to give it a try. I have to say it’s pretty tasty. I used a red turnip so my soup turned out to be a nice pinkish purply color.

Cream of Turnip and Potato Soup

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons butter

1 large turnip peeled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces

1 potato peeled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces (I used a few small red potatoes. There should be about equal amounts of turnip and potato.)

1 tablespoon flour

6 cups chicken stock

1 bay leaf

1 cup heavy cream

1 carrot finely grated

Directions:

Melt butter in a pot over medium heat until it just starts to brown. Add turnips, potatoes, and onions, season with salt and pepper and cook until onions are translucent. Remove veggies from pot but leave any liquid in the pot.

If there isn’t much liquid left in the pot, add a little more butter. Add flour and stir to form a paste, cook for a minute or two to cook off the flour flavor.

Add chicken stock, be sure to scrape the bottom of the pot, bring to a simmer and cook 5 minutes. Add the veggies back to the pot with a bay leaf. Cook, simmering until veggies are tender. Remove from heat and puree until smooth. (You could stop here and eat it as is.) Return the soup to low heat, add cream and simmer until heated through. Serve garnished with some grated carrots.

