Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Back from the sun and sand and pina coladas and right back into cooking. It was rainy yesterday (thanks for the lovely welcome, NYC) and I had the whole day free before heading back to reality so I decided to spend it cooking and baking. I have another CSA pickup tomorrow but I still had a bunch leftover from the last time so I made 3 different veggie dishes. Check back tomorrow for the delicious dessert recipe!

After my failed sourdough attempt I wanted to give bread another shot so I tried no-knead dinner rolls from Martha Stewart. They turned out pretty well but were a little more dense than I was expecting. I halved the recipe so that may have something to do with it. You can find the recipe here.

Pre-rise dough

Shaped into rolls

Risen rolls

Baked

Mixed Carrots

I also made carrots roasted in the oven with olive oil, salt and pepper until browned.

Cast Iron Potatoes

I used red potatoes which I sliced thinly with my mandolin. Melt 2-3 tablespoons of butter in a bowl with 2 cloves of pressed garlic. Melt some more butter in a small cast iron pan on the stove over medium heat. Layer sliced potatoes in the pan starting in the center, overlapping in circles.

Brush with garlic butter, season with salt and pepper. Start the next layer on the outside, butter, salt and pepper. Repeat.

This can all be done covered on the stove but I put it in the oven this time. Bake at 350F until potatoes are tender about 30 minutes.

Red Cabbage with Onions and Bacon

Slice 2 pieces of bacon thinly. Cook in a pan until crispy. Add 2 small onions sliced. Cook until translucent. Add 1 small head of red cabbage thinly sliced. Season with salt and pepper. Cook over low heat for a while until everything is very tender.

Add a couple of tablespoons of apple cider vinegar and cook until it is absorbed.

