Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Tonight was the last winter CSA pickup. For the next 3 months, before the summer season starts, I will be on my own. It’s going to be a little weird not having someone else dictate what I am going to eat for the week. But it’ll also be nice to choose what I want. Luckily, we got another large bounty (34 pounds!) so I won’t have to think about it for a couple weeks. We got a couple great surprises this week, another bag of apples and 2 whole pounds of spinach and lettuce from the greenhouse! Before I started eating mostly seasonal, I never thought I would get so excited over spinach. Also, the parsnips came out of the recently thawed ground which according to Farmer Fred makes them sweeter and better tasting than in the fall.

This week’s share:

3 lbs. Winter Parsnips
5 lbs. Norland Red Potatoes
3 lbs. Mixed Variety Beets
1 pc. Daikon Japanese Radish
1 Head of Green Cabbage
1 Head of Napa Cabbage
5 lbs. Mixed Colored Carrots
5 lbs. Orange Carrots
1 lb.Greenhouse Spinach
1 lb.Greenhouse Baby Lettuce Greens
1 bag of Briermere Apples

 

Winter CSA Week #6

 

10 pounds of carrots! I guess I’ll be making some more soup but first I will be having them in salads with the baby lettuce. It’ll be nice to have a break from all this soup.

 

Spinach with Garlic, Oil and Crushed Red Pepper

I couldn’t wait to dig right into the spinach!

 

