Tags

, , , , , , ,

I was talking recently with a friend about boxed mixes for baking and we both agreed brownies mixes are pretty good. Oddly, they are one thing I have never attempted baking. I was catching up on my DVR-ed tv this weekend and both Ina and Martha made brownies so I took it as a sign to make them too. Ina’s recipe is extremely decadent and delicious. I made a few adjustments; the original recipe calls for over 2 pounds of chocolate and since I didn’t want to spend that much money, I reduced amount and they were still plenty chocolaty. Also, it makes a ton of batter, I think I would half the recipe next time. Below is my recipe, you can find Ina’s here.

Brownies

Ingredients:

1 lb butter

1 lb semisweet chocolate chips

4 tablespoons cocoa powder

6 eggs

2 tablespoons pure vanilla extract

2 1/4 cups sugar

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Butter and flour a 12″ x 18″ x 1″ baking sheet.

Melt together butter, chocolate and cocoa powder. I did this in the microwave but you can do it in a bowl over simmering water. Allow this to cool while doing the next steps.

In a large (very large) bowl stir together eggs, vanilla and sugar. In another bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and salt.

Stir the melted chocolate into the egg mixture. Once combined, add the flour to the mixture.

Pour batter into baking sheet. Bake for about 35 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Allow brownies to cool completely before cutting.

So good!

