Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A reader recommended carrot flan after another large CSA carrot pickup. This past week was by far the largest, 10 pounds of mixed carrots! In an attempt to build meals around carrots I decided to give this recipe a shot.

Overall, it was good but I have a few comments. First, my ramekins are 10 oz so I only made 2 large servings. This led to my second comment, it was a little eggy for my taste. I like eggs but there is a limit to the amount I can eat in one sitting. If the serving was smaller I wouldn’t have had an issue, but that’s my personal preference. Also, the reader, Rachel, said she had some issues with the texture. I too had them too. It was a little mealy and I think it’s just the nature of the carrot and the only way to fix that would be to put it through a sieve. Oh and I forgot to butter the dishes so mine didn’t really come out of the dish nicely which is why half of it is covered with salad.

Carrot Flan

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups carrots, about 6 small carrots

2 eggs

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

Directions:

Peel and cut carrots into 1 inch pieces. Bring a pot of salted water to a boil. Cook carrots until tender about 8 minutes. Drain and let cool.

Preheat oven to 325F. Butter 2 10 oz or 4 6 oz ramekins.

Puree carrots in food processor just to break them down a little. Add eggs, cream, salt and pepper and puree until smooth. Filled ramekins with mixture.

Place ramekins in a baking pan. Fill baking pan with hot water so the water comes up the sides of the ramekins halfway. Cover with foil and bake about 45 minutes. You can check the doneness by inserting a knife. You should feel some resistance. Remove from baking pan and let cool slightly before unmolding. To unmold, run a knife around the edge of the ramekin, invert on a plate.

Lemon Vinaigrette

This makes enough for 2 hearty portions of salad

Ingredients:

1/4 olive oil

Grated lemon peel from half a lemon

2 tablespoons lemon juice, from half a lemon

1 tablespoon minced shallots

1 teaspoon dijon mustard

1/2 teaspoon honey

salt and pepper

Directions:

Since I had the food processor out I just mixed everything in there. If not, you can do it by hand, whisk together all ingredients except oil. While whisking, slowly drizzle oil in. Adjust seasonings as desired.

In a large bowl dress lettuce, or any green you’d like, with dressing while reserving a couple tablespoons to put on the flan. Plate the flan and top with lettuce. Drizzle with some more dressing.

The salad was a great addition. I also served it with some shamrock bread.

