Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I am going to turn orange! Another day, another carrot dish. I can feel my eyesight getting better by the mouthful. I think you get the idea, lots of carrots.

As you may know, my go-to way to make soup is to roast the veggies first. The last time I made carrot soup I wanted to add ginger but decided against it so I added this time. The ginger goes very well with the carrots and it adds a unique flavor. I loved the broth of this soup before I pureed it. The next time I make a broth based soup, which is rare, probably the next time I get sick, I am definitely adding ginger and thyme. So good! I am almost sad I pureed it.

Roasted Carrot Ginger Soup

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

About 1 1/2 lbs of carrots peeled and cut into 1/2 inch rounds

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 small onion diced

2 cloves of garlic minced

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp dried thyme

4 cups of chicken stock

1/4 cup white wine

1/4 cup heavy cream

Directions:

Place cut carrots on a baking sheet,  coat with 2 tablespoons of olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast under the broiler stirring occasionally for about 20 minutes or until carrots are lightly browned and tender.

While carrots are roasting saute onions in 1 tablespoon olive oil in a pot over medium low heat. Cook until translucent. Add garlic and spices, salt and pepper. Cook 1 minute. Add chicken stock, wine and carrots. Simmer for about 30-40 minutes. Remove from heat and puree until smooth. I actually took my time this time and pureed for a while so it has a nice smooth texture. Stir in cream if desired. I thought mine needed something extra but it is definitely optional.

Please excuse my cellphone photos, I forgot to take a picture of the finished product last night. Believe me the color is actually much nicer orange.

