Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have a new food obsession. Given my abundance of CSA carrots, I have been trying to work them into every meal. I don’t know about you but I hate cutting carrots. They’re hard and they end up flying all over the kitchen. At least in my kitchen, so I’ve turned to grating them. It’s really easy to prepare them and it cuts down on the cooking time. I also love using the purple carrots, which I think are actually black carrots, because of the amazing color. There’s nothing better than colorful food!

Here are two dishes I made just this week using this technique.

This is a carrot and spinach fried rice with sauteed onions and garlic. Seasoned with soy sauce, sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, egg, salt and pepper. A nice twist on fried rice.

This is grated purple and yellow carrots and spinach sauteed with garlic and oil. Tossed with some mezzi rigatoni and topped with grated pecorino.

Next time you have a bunch of carrots you don’t know what to do with, try grating some and tossing them into your favorite dishes.

