Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

In my last post, I mentioned I wanted to make a broth version of the carrot soup. Well the opportunity presented itself quite quickly. A sick friend requested soup, and I am too nice. Actually, I was looking forward to making it.

I roast my chicken when I make chicken noodle soup. To me it adds more flavor. I don’t like chucks of mushy vegetables in my soups so I strain everything after it simmers for a long time. I have to say this was a pretty good soup.

Roasted Chicken Noodle Soup with Ginger

Time about 3 hours

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

2-3 chicken breast, bone in with skin

2 small onions chopped

2 cloves of garlic minced

2 teaspoons dried thyme

2 teaspoons ground ginger (it would probably be better to use a fresh piece)

3 carrots, these can be cleaned and left whole since we are straining

4 cups chicken stock

4 cups water

1/2 cup white wine

Egg noodles

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Put chicken breasts in a baking pan. Season with salt and pepper and olive oil. Add water to the pan just to cover the bottom. Bake until chicken is cooked through. Add more water to the pan as needed.

While the chicken is cooking, saute onions in a large pot until translucent. Season with salt and pepper. Add garlic and spices, cook 1 minute. Add carrots, chicken stock, water and wine.

When the chicken is done, remove the meat from the bones and reserve. Add the bones, skin and the pan drippings to the pot. While cooking, if too much liquid evaporates add more water and cover. Simmer for a couple hours until you achieve the desired flavor. Strain broth through a sieve.

Cook a big handful of egg noodles per serving. Add noodles and some chicken to each bowl and top with broth. I served it with fontina grilled cheese.

