Tags

, , , , ,

My friend asked me today if I had ever made pizza dough, which I hadn’t. I guess I took her question as a challenge because when I got home I did just that. I had the fresh mozzarella and 3 hours to spare so it was perfect timing. Plus, I thought the vegetable stew would make a good topping. Pizza dough is surprisingly easy to make. A pretty tasty too. My crust didn’t really brown but it was crisp. This recipe makes 4 good sized pizzas. I put two servings of dough in the freezer for another time.

Pizza Dough

Ingredients:

2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast (1/4 ounce envelope)

2 cups warm water

5 – 5 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons salt

olive oil

Directions:

Dissolve yeast in warm water in a large bowl for 5 minutes. Stir in 3 cups of flour and the salt until smooth. Stir in 2 more cups of flour. Continue to adding flour 1 tablespoon as a time until dough comes away from bowl but is still sticky.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead with lightly floured hands. Start by pulling the dough toward you with one hand and pushing it away from you with the other. Fold the dough back over itself and repeat until it’s easier to handle, about 10 times. Finish kneading normally until dough is smooth, elastic, and soft, but a little tacky, about 10 minutes. Shape dough into a ball and transfer to a lightly oiled bowl. Turn it over to coat. Cover with plastic, and let rise in a warm place until it doubles in volume, 3 hours.

This is pre-rise. I forgot to take a picture of the post-rise dough and what a great sight it was. It rose all the way up to the top of the bowl.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and cut into 4 equal pieces. Shape into balls, dust with flour and cover with plastic wrap. Let rise for about 30 minutes.

If you don’t have a pizza stone, like me, you can stretch out the dough on a lightly floured baking sheet.

Top with your desired toppings.

Bake in the oven at 400F until dough is cooked, about 15 minutes. After this I turned on the broiler for a few minutes.

