Tags

, , , , , , , ,

After a week of being sick and eating only soup and bread (and not cooking) I really needed some home cooked veggies. I’ve been toying with the idea of a soup with cabbage and tomatoes but I have definitely had enough soup for the week and wanted something more substantial. I still have a lot of CSA veggies left so I decided on a veggie stew. It turned out pretty good and since there is no real recipe you can adjust it to your tastes and what you have in the fridge. You can add meat, fresh herbs, anything really. It was a nice hearty meal on a chilly night.

Vegetable Stew

I sautéed a small diced onion in some olive oil in a pot. After they were slightly browned, I added a minced clove of garlic and some crushed red pepper. I let it cook for a minute and deglazed the pot with the juice of a lemon. Then I added a sliced head of cabbage, a carrot and parsnip chopped. That cooked down a little before adding a can of diced tomatoes and about a cup and a half of chicken stock. I used fire roasted tomatoes so that added a nice smokey flavor. I let this simmer covered on the stove for about 30 minutes. I served it on top of pasta with some grated parmesan but it can be served with rice or another type of grain. Or alone as a side dish.

