Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today, I did something truly amazing, I made bacon. I’m not talking about frying up a few slices, I mean I made bacon. From scratch.

While making my food blog rounds I came across Charcutepalooza, which is a great project, and recently they made homemade bacon. After reading about it and seeing how easy it is, and this being Made From Scratch, I knew I had to make it. I picked up a few pounds of pork belly last weekend and cut it in half to made two different flavors of bacon. I didn’t follow one specific recipe but you can find one here.

I made one maple flavored and the other a mustard garlic combination. For the maple I added salt, brown sugar and maple syrup to a large ziploc, put the pork belly in and rubbed the mixture all over. For the mustard one I used salt, dry mustard, garlic and some maple syrup.

This sat in the fridge for 1 week. I turned them over every other day so the flavors get into all the meat. Today it was time to cook. This is where you would smoke the bacon but since I live in an apartment and didn’t want my neighbors to think we were going up in flames, I decided to pass on the stove top smoker method.

The pork belly was baked it in the oven on a low temperature for a couple hours.

After it comes out of the oven and cools a bit, I removed the skin (and saved it for later) and sliced the bacon very thinly. The slicing was the hardest part of making bacon. I cut each one in half and put one whole half of each in the freezer. It should be easier to cut thinly when frozen.

Homemade bacon is so good! I have some tinkering to do with the seasonings. The mustard one was a little too salty and I couldn’t really taste the garlic but the maple had the perfect amount of sweetness. The flavor possibilities are endless! I can’t wait to try more. A very successful first attempt!

Let me know if you have any flavor combos you think I should try.

