Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

As if homemade bacon weren’t decadent enough, I made the most amazing fettuccine alfredo the other day. There’s only a few ingredients in it, so I wanted to start with the best. I picked up the most delicious (and cheapest) fresh fettuccine and parmesan from Raffetto’s. I am now a convert to Milk Thistle products after my first experience with them, so I got some cream at the farmers market. While I was there I also picked up a rosemary plant. Rosemary is one of my favorite herbs. I wasn’t planning on adding the rosemary but it was begging to be used.

Fettuccine Alfredo with Rosemary and Garlic

4 servings

Ingredients:

1 stick of butter (My cream was so rich I only used about 6 tablespoons)

1 cup heavy cream

1 clove of garlic

2 inch stem of rosemary

1 pound of fettuccine

1 cup grated parmesan

Directions:

Melt the butter in a large pan over low heat, add the cream. While you bring the cream and butter to a simmer put a large pot of water on to boil. Crush the garlic clove with the side of a knife. You want to keep it in large pieces since you are going to remove it later. Add the garlic and the rosemary to the cream mixture. Let these simmer stirring frequently until the pasta is done. Remove the garlic and rosemary from the cream. Drain the pasta and add it to the cream. Toss to coat, then gradually add parmesan. Season with salt and pepper. Top with more parmesan to serve.

