Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today brought beef, beer and Brooklyn. I spent the evening eating endless amounts Pat LaFrieda beef, drinking McSorley’s beer and listening to Susquehanna Industrial Tool & Die Co. at the Brooklyn Beefsteak. It was delicious and fun!

When thinking about what to have for lunch this week, I knew I was tired of soup and wanted a tasty sandwich. I settled on chicken, homemade bacon, rosemary mayo (from my window sill) and baby lettuce on ciabatta (Bread Alone). Yesterday, it was dinnertime and I still hadn’t decided what to make but I since I had the food processor out, I wanted to make the mayo. As I was doing this I was reminded of Pommes Frites, a great little place in the East Village that serves only fries and dipping sauces. One of my favorites is the rosemary dipping sauce. I knew what I was making for dinner…fries!

I was excited that I got to test out the julienne feature on my mandoline. I can’t believe I’ve never used it before! I made perfect little fries. After I put the fries in the oven, I thought of all the beets I have so I julienned what turned out to be a gold beet and made some beet fries. I don’t know if the gold ones are better than red but these beets weren’t that bad. They tasted kind of like fresh corn to me. I also tried it raw and think I like it better than cooked, so I’ll be trying a raw beet recipe.

Rosemary Mayo and Fries

There really isn’t a recipe for this. You blend some mayo, fresh rosemary and a bit of salt in a food processor. I drizzled the julienned potatoes and beets with some olive oil and salt and baked them in the oven at 400F until crisp.

Gold Beets

Beet and Potato Fries

