Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yesterday, I went back to Buttermilk Channel for brunch with the ladies. Another great meal! And a good deal. I had the Eggs Huntington which is eggs Benedict but on a buttermilk biscuit instead of an english muffin. Oh so good, we all cleaned our plates.

I saw a picture the other day of a fancy doughnut ice cream sandwich. As I started thinking more about doughnuts, I wondered if you could bake them instead of frying, since I don’t really fry in my house. I did some googling and found out quickly that you can. And I can now say they are definitely yummy. They are pretty easy to make too. The hardest part is coating them in sugar. Now that I have this figured out, it’ll be fun to experiment with different flavors.

Baked Doughnuts

Baked Doughnuts

Makes 12-15 doughnuts plus some holes

Ingredients:

1 cup lukewarm milk

1 packet (1/4 oz.) active dry yeast

1 egg

1/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons vanilla

3 cups all purpose flour, plus more as needed

1 stick butter softened

For topping:

4 tablespoons melted butter

Sugar

Cinnamon

Directions:

Sprinkle the yeast over the warmed milk and let sit for 5 minutes. Beat the egg and sugar in a mixer with the paddle attachment until combined. Add the milk, salt and vanilla, beat until combined. Slowly add the flour. Once it starts to get thick, replace the paddle attachment with the dough hook. Add butter 1 tablespoon at a time until it is incorporated. My butter took a while to incorporate so you want to make sure the butter is very soft. Continue adding flour until the dough starts to pull away from the sides of the bowl. Mine was still a tiny bit sticky when I stopped which worked perfectly. Turn dough out onto a floured surface and knead with additional flour as needed, until smooth. Place dough in an oiled bowl, cover and let sit for about an hour or until it has doubled in size.

Pre-rise

Post-rise

Turn dough out onto a floured surface and pat down to a 1/2 inch piece of dough. It’s really easy to work with so I don’t think a rolling pin is necessary. Cut into 3 inch circles and cut out hole in the center. I don’t have round cutters so I used a pint glass and the best thing I found to cut out the centers was the cap to my olive oil. I re-formed the scraps to use all the dough.

Cut Circles

Place doughnuts onto a baking sheet. I used 2 sheets, one was lined with a Silpat which worked better than the unlined sheet. Pre-heat the oven to 400F. Let doughnuts rise for another 30 minutes, covered, until they double in size.

Pre-rise

Post-rise

Bake in the oven for about 10 minutes. Mine didn’t really brown but you can touch them to see if they are done. They should be soft but firm.

Baked

Once they are cool enough to handle, dip they and butter them the cinnamon sugar mix. I didn’t measure but cinnamon sugar is pretty simple to get right.

Sugared

Ready to Eat!

