Tags

, , , ,

Today marks 6 months since I started this blog. I had no idea at the beginning if I would be able to stick with or lose interest after a month. But 112 posts later I’m still going strong! From rainbow cake to homemade bacon to tortillas, it’s been a great adventure. Thanks for reading!

This soup is what I compare all other tortilla soups against. I don’t know where this recipe came from but my mom first made it many years ago. I used to make it so often that I always made sure to have a can of green chilies in the cabinet. I haven’t made it in a while and since I’m between CSA seasons I thought it would be a good time to do so. To make a meal out of it I usually have it with tortilla chips and a quesadilla. One of the few packaged food products I purchase are tortillas which I always have in the fridge. Quesadillas are a great late night meal. I’ve been toying with the idea of making tortillas for a while now and when I heard that you can roll out flour tortillas and you don’t need a press I knew I had to give it a try. I didn’t make enough of them to go with all the soup so I had to use some store-bought tortillas too…ick. Why did I have to ruin tortillas for myself?

Tortilla Soup

Ingredients:

1 medium onion chopped
2 cloves garlic minced
4 oz. can of green chilies chopped
15 oz. can stewed tomatoes chopped and in their own juices
4 cups chicken stock
1 teaspoon lemon pepper
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon hot sauce
4 tablespoons flour
1/3 cup sour cream

Directions: 

Cook onion in a pot with some olive oil over low heat until tender. Add garlic and cook 1 minute. Add chilies, tomatoes, chicken stock, lemon pepper, Worcestershire sauce, cumin and hot sauce. Simmer for 20 minutes.

In a small bowl, mix together the flour and 1/2 cup water. Whisk into soup, bring to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes.

Remove from heat and puree until smooth. Stir in sour cream and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Tortillas

Makes 12

Ingredients:

3 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons salt
3/4 cup butter softened
3/4 cup hot water

Directions:

In a bowl combine flour, baking powder and salt. Cut in butter until mixture is crumbly. You can do this by hand or in a food processor. I did it by hand. Add hot water to flour mixture until moist. Knead dough until it pulls away from the sides of the bowl and forms a ball. Add a little more flour or water as needed. Cover bowl with a towel and let rest 1 hour.

Divide dough into 12 even balls. Roll them out on a lightly floured surface until very thin, about 1/8 inch. Heat a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Cook tortillas 1-2 minutes on each side. They will puff up and brown slightly.

Store the stacked and wrapped in a towel until ready to use.

I made cheese and mushroom quesdillas to go with the tortilla soup.

