Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I used my homemade ricotta to make lasagna. I like thin sheets of pasta and lots of layers (I think this one had 24, 5 of which were pasta) in my lasagna so I made my own dough and rolled it out very thinly. It was very hard to work with but it was worth all the trouble. I cooked them before I prepared the lasagna but I am wondering if they even need to be cooked at all. This pasta recipe is my standard for making raviolis. It is very delicate and probably not the best for this recipe but it is just so tasty. I’m not going to give a recipe for lasagna because I think most people get the gist. Layer pasta, sauce and cheeses (ricotta, mozzarella and pecorino in this case), repeat ending with pasta and sauce. Bake in the oven until nice and bubbly. The key to keeping the lasagna together when getting it out of the pan is to let it cool for a bit before slicing. I’ve also included a recipe below for my favorite way to cook asparagus. This past weekend the first of the asparagus showed up at the farmer’s market which is always a great sign!

Pasta Dough

Ingredients:

1 cup cake flour (not self-rising)
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large egg yolks
1 1/2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 cup water

Directions:

I read the recipe for the first time in a while and realized it actually calls for the dough to be mixed in a food processor but since I didn’t have one until recently I’ve always used my KitchenAid with the dough hook. Basically you just mix it until it begins to form a ball. Turn it out on a floured surface and finish kneading until it is smooth and elastic. Wrap in plastic wrap and let sit for 1 hour.

Roll out to desired thickness. I went all the way to #6 on the KitchenAid attachment. Then cut into lasagna shaped pieces.

Roasted Asparagus

Snap the ends off the asparagus. They will break where they need to. Toss with olive oil and salt and pepper. Spread on a baking sheet in one layer. Roasted in a 350F oven until starting to brown. Turn as necessary. Sprinkle with grated parmesan or pecorino, return to oven and cook until melted. 

