Tags

, , , , , , ,

Even though I am not celebrating with my momma this Mother’s Day, I made a dish for her. Sorry you don’t get to taste it ma. This would be a great Mother’s Day brunch recipe. This quiche recipe is the last recipe is Martha Stewart’s Pies and Tarts cookbook and it is absolutely amazing. I mean, it’s bacon, caramelized onions and cheese, how could it not be? It’s not too eggy either. I had a couple issues with my crust shrinking but it still tastes good. I didn’t weight down the crust when I baked it which I think was the problem. I used a pie crust I had in my freezer from the last time I made a batch. I put it in the refrigerator yesterday to thaw and it worked out great. I used my homemade bacon, onion and eggs from the farmer’s market.

Bacon and Caramelized Onion Quiche

Ingredients:

1/2 recipe pie crust
6 strips of bacon diced
3 small onions thinly sliced
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 eggs plus 1 egg yolk
Pinch of nutmeg
Salt and pepper
1 1/2 cups grated fontina or gruyere cheese (I used more like 2 cups)

Directions: 

Roll out dough into a 14 inch round about 1/8 inch thick. Fit into a 10 inch fluted tart pan. Trim excess dough off edges. Pierce bottom of dough all over with a fork. Refrigerate or freeze until firm.

Preheat oven to 375F. (This is the part I skipped) Line shell with parchment and fill with pie weights or dried beans. Bake until crust is beginning to brown at edges, about 30 minutes. Remove parchment and weighs. Bake until bottom of crust is dry, another 5-10 minutes. Let cool slightly.

Prepare filling. Cook bacon in a pan over medium low heat. When the bacon is brown and crisp remove from pan while leaving bacon fat in pan. Add onions to pan, cook until caramelized about 30 minutes.

Whisk together milk, heavy cream and eggs in a bowl. Season with nutmeg, salt and pepper. Sprinkle half of cheese in bottom of crust.

Top with bacon and onions.

Add the rest of the cheese.

Pour egg mixture over the top of the cheese.

Bake in the oven about 30-35 minutes until the center is just set.

Let cool at least 10 minutes before serving.

