Tags

, , , ,

I have a confession to make…I read Snooki’s book. An even worse confession is that it wasn’t as terrible as I thought it would be. It was a book club pick so I had no choice. Our meeting is today and the host is serving is a Sunday Italian dinner. I wanted to bring something along the same theme so I decided on sesame cookies. I can’t say these are the best cookies I’ve made but for some reason I can’t stop eating them.

Sesame Cookies

Makes 3 dozen

Ingredients:
3 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter softened
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk plus 1/4 cup more for dipping
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 ounces sesame seeds

Directions:
Add flour, sugar, baking powder and salt to the bowl of an electric mixer. Mix it on low for a few seconds just to distribute the ingredients. Add butter and mix on low until mixture is lumpy.

Beat eggs in a small bowl. Stir in milk and vanilla. With the mixer on low, pour in wet mixture. Mix until dough is formed.

Preheat oven to 375F. Roll out a small amount of dough into 1/2 inch thick logs. Cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces. I tried several different sizes. I think the thicker ones were more successful. Dip pieces into milk and roll in sesame seeds. Depending on your preference you can roll the whole piece in the seeds or just dip the top half in.

Bake on a lined or greased pan for about 15 minutes or until the bottoms just start to brown.

