Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I picked up some peas at the farmer’s market this weekend without any real idea of what to make with them. Fresh peas only really entered my radar last year when I started shopping at the farmers market regularly. Then I started noticing them on menus and in recipes. It’s like when you learn something new and you hear about it everywhere. I’ve been intrigued by fresh pea soups so I decided to test it out. A lot of recipes I found also had mint in them which was great since I have it growing on my window sill. To go along with it, I made roast chicken breasts with garlic, lemon zest and rosemary, also from my window sill, and roasted asparagus.

Pea Soup

I only made a small batch of soup. About 2 servings.

Ingredients:

1/2 small onion diced
1 clove of garlic minced
1 cup shelled peas
1 1/2 cups chicken stock
1 small sprig of mint, about 8 leaves

Directions:

Saute onions in olive oil until translucent. Season with salt and pepper. Add garlic and cook for a minute. Add peas, chicken stock and mint leaves to the pot. Bring to a simmer over medium low heat and cook until peas are tender. Puree until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Roast Chicken Breast

I made a paste of garlic, rosemary, lemon zest, salt, pepper, a little lemon juice and olive oil.

Then I rubbed it on the chicken underneath the skin.

Bake at 350F until the skin is brown and crisp and the chicken is done.

Enjoy with roasted asparagus!

