Tags

, , , , , ,

I heard a rumor that this is the last week for strawberries at the farmers market, so of course I had to snap up 2 quarts. So sweet and delicious! My friends and I were supposed to go to the beach today for a picnic but Mother Nature had other plans. I was going to bring these strawberry rhubarb pies but instead my coworkers will be the lucky recipients. I’m sure they will be a big hit since they are just so cute! They taste good too.

This is another Martha recipe from her Pies & Tarts cookbook. The recipe calls for you to finely dice the strawberries and rhubarb but since I had the food processor out, I pulsed the fruit in the food processor which may or may not have been a good idea. I think it was pureed too much and I ended up with less filling than I needed, although my first batch was over filled. I also saved the liquid from the strained fruit which is really tasty when added to prosecco and I image vodka or gin. Also, I used lemon instead of orange as called for in the original recipe.

Mini Strawberry Rhubarb Pies

Makes 24 

Ingredients:

For the crust:
3 cups all purpose flour
3 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter cut into small pieces
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons ice water
Vegetable oil spray
1 egg for egg wash

For the filling:
12 oz. strawberries cut into a tiny dice (or pulsed with the rhubarb in a food processor)
5 stalks rhubarb cut into a tiny dice
Finely grated zest from 1 lemon plus the juice
1/4 cup Grand Marnier
1 1/2 cups sugar

Directions: 

Make the crust:
Pulse flour, sugar, salt and butter in a food processor until the mixture resembles a coarse meal, 8-10 seconds. Add ice water, 1 tablespoon at a time, pulse until dough comes together. Divide dough in half and form into 2 discs. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate.

Make the filling:
Mix together strawberries, rhubarb, zest, juice, Grand Marnier and sugar.

Assemble:
Spray 2 cupcake pans with cooking spray. On a floured surface, roll out dough to 1/8 inch thick. Cut out 24 rounds using a 3 1/2 inch round cutter. Press into cupcake pans. Refrigerate or freeze until firm. Reroll scraps cut into 1/4 inch wide strips for lattice.

Strain fruit mixture (save the liquid for cocktails) and place 2 tablespoons in each shell. Brush the edges with the egg wash. Place 2 strips of dough lengthwise across each pie, place 2 more crosswise and weave the dough over the pies. Remove excess and press ends of lattice to pie crust. Brush top with egg wash. Refrigerate or freeze until firm.

Preheat oven to 350F. Bake until golden, 50-60 minutes. Remove from pan with still hot so they don’t stick. Let cool completely on a rack.

