Tags

, , , , ,

I had a culinary revelation tonight and maybe a new obsession. One bite was all it took. I kept coming across people grilling garlic scapes so I decided to give it a try and I am certainly glad I did. The flavor is amazing, nothing else I’ve eaten tastes like it. It’s garlicky, sweet, a little earthy and has that nice char flavor. It’s kind of like roasted garlic with the texture of thin asparagus. If you like garlic and have access to garlic scapes, don’t be intimidated by their looks, pick some up and grill them.

I did this on my grill pan but I am sure if you had a real grill it would be even better. I trimmed the off the blossoms, coated the scapes with olive oil, seasoned with salt and pepper and grilled until they had a nice char on both sides.

They would go great with a nice steak. I only wish I had more!

