Tags

, , , , , ,

The first time I bought Tagliarini alla Chitarra from Raffetto’s I thought it had a very similar texture to lo mein noodles. A chitarra is a pasta cutting device with strings that looks similar to a guitar, which it is named after. The pasta is thicker than spaghetti and square and has a chewy texture. When I went to Raffetto’s this week I knew I would get some and make an Asian noodle dish since I already had the Asian vegetables from my CSA. I used bok choy and I found some sugar snap peas I forgot about so I added them too. After I took the first bite I thought cilantro would be a nice addition. It added a nice fresh flavor to the dish. You can add other vegetables, scallions would be great, or some meat. Very tasty!

Sesame Noodles

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:
1/2 pound spaghetti-like noodle (As I said above I like taglairini alla chitarra)
2 heads baby bok choy, sliced
A handful sugar snap peas, trimmed
1 tablespoon olive oil
3 cloves of garlic minced
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon hot sauce (I used Sriracha)
1 tablespoon cilantro chopped
1 teaspoon sesame seeds, toasted

Directions:
While bringing a pot of water to a boil, cook the bok choy and sugar snap peas. Fill a large pan with enough water just to cover the bottom. Add bok choy and sugar snap peas, cover and cook over medium high heat until just tender and drain excess water. Set vegetables aside in a large bowl. Return the pan to the heat and lower to low. Saute garlic in olive oil. Add the sugar, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce, sesame oil and chili sauce. Simmer until sugar dissolves.

Cook pasta until al dente. Drain and add to the bowl of vegetables. Toss with sauce and cilantro. Garnish with sesame seeds.

