Tags

, , , , , , , ,

After receiving so many suggestions for grilled lettuce (Thanks readers!), I had to give it a try. It turned out to be a good way to use up a lot of lettuce at once. Grilling really changes the flavor, I especially liked the browned pieces. I ate this whole head for dinner because it was so good and you know I have a ton to eat but it’s probably best served as a side. I used a head of green romaine. You could use red romaine but I’m not sure a more delicate lettuce would hold up too well. It’s a great, different way to eat lettuce.

\

Grilled Lettuce

Ingredients:
1 head lettuce
2 oz. pancetta or a couple slices bacon
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1 clove garlic smashed
Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Cut pancetta or bacon into a small dice. Cook until crisp and set aside.

Remove outer leaves of lettuce, rinse head and dry. Cut head in half lengthwise. I cut mine unevenly so I cut the larger piece in half. You could also cut it into quarters.

Coat them with olive oil, season with salt and pepper. Place the lettuce on a heated grill or grill pan. Cook until they start to brown, turn and cook the other sides.

Meanwhile simmer balsamic vinegar and smashed garlic clove until the liquid has reduced by half. Remove garlic clove.

Top grilled lettuce with balsamic vinegar, pancetta and parmesan cheese.

