Tags

, , , , , , ,

This recipe was recommended by a fellow CSA member. I’ve been meaning to try something like it with all the squash I’ve been receiving. I made these the other night for dinner with a side salad. It was a nice little meal. They were a little eggy in flavor, but I liked it that way. It’s an Ina Garten recipe that I altered based on what I had in the kitchen. You can definitely add some seasoning to the batter to suit your own taste. I think chipotle would be good in these.

Zucchini Pancakes

Ingredients:
2 small zucchini grated
1 large scallion grated or finely diced
1 egg beaten
4 tablespoons flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
Black pepper
Butter and olive oil

Directions:
Combine zucchini, scallion, egg, flour, salt and pepper in a bowl. Heat 1/2 tablespoon butter and 1/2 tablespoon olive oil over medium-low heat. When hot, drop spoonfuls of batter into the pan. Cook until brown on each side. Season with salt and enjoy.

If making multiple batches, you can keep them warm on a pan in the oven. You should add more butter and oil to the pan as needed. After I made the first batch I let the batter sit for a little and it got watery, so I poured off the excess liquid.

