Tags

, , , , , , ,

This week was another dream CSA share. They just keep getting better and better. I got the watermelon I was teased with last week and boy is it delicious, my first of the summer. Now that I have another bunch of purple basil I will be making pesto with it.

This Week’s Share:
1 bunch Purple Basil
2 heads Red Romaine
2 Red Bulb Onion
1 bunch Ong Choy
1/4 Watermelon
1/2 pint of Cherry Tomatoes
1 lb. Tomatoes
1 Summer Squash

CSA Week #11

I had the most amazing dinner tonight. I was inspired by Smitten Kitchen’s post featuring tomatoes from our very own Sang Lee Farms, the same ones I received in my share tonight. This was accompanied by a corn soup using a leftover ear of grilled corn. You can’t get much more summery than that.

Tomato Salad with Breadcrumbs

I altered the Smitten Kitchen recipe, which you can find here, based on what I had in the house and my personal preferences.

I used my own sourdough to make the crumbs. Instead of shallots I used scallions and the rest of the ingredients according to the recipe.

I don’t like raw tomatoes so I roasted them in the oven for a bit, with olive oil, salt and pepper. After I took them out of the oven, I drizzled them balsamic vinegar, sprinkled with purple basil and topped with the breadcrumbs.

Tomato Salad with Breadcrumbs

It was a really great combination of flavors and textures. I only wish I made more. It’s also just a really great recipe for flavored breadcrumbs.

Corn Soup

I had a leftover ear of grilled corn that I knew I wanted to make a soup with, especially since it’s been so Fall like here. I didn’t realize until I tasted it, that I had eaten this soup before. I ordered corn chowder from a local Mexican place and it was delicious and tasted very similar to this one.

I made one bowl of soup with one ear of corn. I sautéed some scallions and garlic in a pot. Added the corn cut from the ear and some chicken stock, maybe 3/4 cup. Threw in a few dashed of chipotle powder and let that simmer for a bit. Puree with a hand blender. Return to heat and since I had leftover milk I poured in a splash along with a few leaves of cilantro. Let that simmer for a few minutes and enjoy.

Corn Soup

The freshness of the cilantro and the sweetness of the corn with the smokey heat of the chipotle all go so well together. I also wish I had more of this.

