Tags

, , ,

Another recipe for those of you with an abundance of zucchini. My friend sent an email yesterday with a link for zucchini fries and the funny thing was I already had another recipe for them open. I’ve been meaning to make them and took that as a sign. They were really good. I might like them even more than the zucchini pancakes.

Zucchini Fries 

This is the basic recipe: cut the zucchini into sticks no larger the 1/2 inch thick. Dip them in egg and coat with breadcrumbs. Bake in a 400F oven for about 25-30 minutes, flipping once halfway through.

The key ingredient of this is the breadcrumbs. I used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs with grated Parmesan, garlic powder and paprika. You can use any number of seasonings in the breading. Tonight I made them using yellow summer squash and breadcrumbs seasoned with garlic salt and chipotle powder. The dipping sauce is also important ingredient. I made a Sriracha mayo for the zucchini and used plain old ketchup from the yellow squash.

