Tags

, , , , , , ,

I had to do one of my CSA volunteer shifts tonight. I spent 2 hours cutting cantaloupe, weighting tomatoes, potatoes and squash. It was another good CSA pickup and a perk for doing the late shift was that they let us take some leftover produce. I picked a bag of peaches from the fruit share and a couple of extra tomatoes. I have to say, the peaches I get at the farmers market are so much sweeter and juicier. Someone at the pickup said she was going to make watermelon margaritas and that was exactly what I did when I got home. Yum!

I forgot to mention, there was some damage to the farm from the hurricane. Not nearly as bad as it could have been but there may be less produce in our shares in upcoming weeks. I heard that another CSA in the area had their crops completely wiped out by the storm. That’s a chance you take with CSA’s.

This week’s share:
1 bunch Carrots
1 head Green Iceberg Lettuce
1 lb. mixed Potatoes
1 lb. Summer Squash
1/4 Watermelon
1/2 pint of Cherry Tomatoes
1 lb. Tomatoes

CSA Week #13

I’ve made a lot of repeat recipes recently. I made my black bean soup with a few fresh tomatoes rather than canned and I added some cilantro. Cilantro is a great addition. I also made some tortillas and salsa to go along with it. I haven’t shared my typical recipe for salsa yet but this is a version of it. I roasted one large tomato with a small red onion, a large clove of garlic, salt, pepper and olive oil. I blended it all with some cilantro and a dash of hot sauce. I made zucchini pancakes again adding hot sauce and cilantro to the batter. I served them with the salsa.

Cilantro Zucchini Pancakes

