Tags

, , , , ,

It was a rainy walk home from my CSA pickup tonight. It was another good week. Chard was a new addition. I was happy to see watermelon again this week. Again, Farmer Fred stressed how lucky we are to have come out of the storm with minor damage. Many farmers have not been as fortunate. There are several ways you can support farmers affected by the storm. Visit Grow NYC and Just Food for more information.

This week’s share:
1 bunch Beets
1 bunch Chard
1 bunch Scallions
1 lb. Fingerling Potatoes
1/4 Watermelon
1 pint of Cherry Tomatoes

CSA Week #14

I’m wondering what I should do with the chard and the fingerling potatoes.

I spent this long holiday weekend upstate at my parent’s house. I brought along some friends and we all went camping one night on an island in Lake George. I brought along some CSA peaches from last week to grill on the island. I’ve never had grilled peaches before. They were delish.

Grilled Peaches

Cut the peaches in half and remove pits. Grill cut side down first. Once they have grill marks on them, flip and grill on the other side. Put a small amount of butter and brown sugar on the top of the peach. Grill until butter and sugar is melted.

Grilled Peaches

