Tags

, , , , , ,

I wanted to try making a sorbet with my ice cream maker and, since it’s in season, I wanted to use watermelon. I’ve been getting the most amazing watermelon from my CSA so when I got more last week I knew I needed to save it for sorbet. The recipe is super simple. My watermelon was very sweet so I was wary to add all the sugar but did anyways. It was a bit sweeter than I would have liked but it was still really good. It tasted summery; so fresh and sweet. It was another dish I served the family and they all approved.


Watermelon Sorbet

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup water
3 cups watermelon, chopped and seeded
1/4 cup lime juice, about 3 limes

Directions:
Heat the water and sugar until sugar is dissolved. You can do this in the microwave, stirring occasionally.

Puree watermelon in a blender or food processor. Combine sugar water, watermelon and lime juice. Chill in the refrigerator until cold.

Freeze mixture in an ice cream maker, according to the instructions.

