Tags

, , , ,

Work is overtaking my life and it is a miracle I am blogging tonight. Before going away again this week I wanted to get in a new recipe. I got red mustard greens in my CSA this week. I was telling my friend that I’ve never cooked them before and her recommendation was to “cook the hell out of them”. So that’s exactly what I did. I came across a lot of recipes using similar ingredients so I decided to do the same. The dish came out great. I had no trouble eating the whole bunch myself. It made a nice purple broth too.

Braised Mustard Greens

Ingredients:
1 small onion sliced
2 gloves garlic minced
1 bunch mustard greens, washed and chopped (mine were very sandy so I soaked them)
1/4 cup chicken stock
Dash sesame oil

Directions:
Saute onions in olive oil over medium low heat. Cook until they start to brown. Add garlic and cook 1 minute.

Add prepared mustard greens and chicken stock. Cover and cook over low heat for 10 minutes. Remove lid and simmer for 15-20 minutes until liquid reduces by half. Season with salt. Before serving, add a dash of sesame oil.

