Tags

, , , , , ,

Today is Made From Scratch’s first birthday! I made it! When I started, I think like a lot of others, I didn’t know if I would stick with it. Or if anyone would be interested in what I had to say. Thankfully, I am still at it and people are reading. Thank you to all my wonderful readers!  You are my inspiration to continue blogging!

In honor of the birthday, I decided to make a cake from a new cookbook I received, Sky High: Irresistible Triple Layer Cakes. I decided on a simple vanilla cake with chocolate frosting. The frosting is a little sweet for my taste, but I also used bittersweet chocolate rather than unsweetened, so that could be the problem. The cake however is amazing. The flavor is great and the texture is even better! It is like velvet in your mouth. So moist! I will definitely be making this one again.

Vanilla Buttermilk Cake
Makes an 8 inch 3 layer cake 

Ingredients:
4 whole eggs
2 egg yolks
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
3 cups cake flour (I used about 2 1/2 cups cake flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose flour because that’s all I had)
4 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 sticks (8 oz.) unsalted butter at room temperature
Instant fudge frosting

Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 350F. Butter the bottoms and sides of three 8 inch round cake pans or spray with vegetable oil. Line the bottom of each pan with a round of parchment or waxed paper and grease the paper.

Put the eggs and yolks in a medium bowl, add the vanilla and 1/4 cup of the buttermilk. Whisk to blend well.

Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a larger mixer bowl, whisk to blend. Add the butter and the remaining 1 cup of buttermilk to these dry ingredients and with the mixer on low, blend together. Raise the mixer speed to medium and beat until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.

Add the egg mixture in 3 additions, scraping down the sides of the bowl and mixing only until throughly incorporated.

Divide the batter among the 3 prepared pans.

Bake the cake layers for 28-32 minutes, or until a cake tester or wooden toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean and the cake begins to pull away from the sides of the pan. Let the layers cool in the pans for 10 minutes; then carefully turn out onto wire racks, peel off the paper liners and let cool completely.

To assemble the cake, place one layer, flat side up on a cake stand or serving plate. Spread 3/4 cup of the Instant Fudge Frosting over the layer right to the edge. Repeat with the next layer. Place the last layer on top and use all but 3/4 cup (if decorating) of the frosting to cover the top and sides. With an offset palette knife or spatula, smooth out the frosting all over. Place the remaining 3/4 cup of frosting in a pastry bag fitted with a medium star tube and pipe a shell border around the top and bottom edges of the cake. I used a ziplock bag with the corner cut off as my pastry bag and tip. Please don’t judge!

Instant Fudge Frosting
Makes about 5 cups 

Ingredients:
6  oz. unsweetened chocolate, melted and cooled
4 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
3 sticks (12 oz.) unsalted butter, at room temperature
6 tablespoons half and half
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions:
Place all ingredients in a food processor and pulse to incorporate. then process until the frosting is smooth. Simple as that.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

